California Anesthesiologist Receives 2016 Ace Award From EmCare

Posted on Mon, Mar 28, 2016
California Anesthesiologist Receives 2016 Ace Award From EmCare

Gary Lau, M.D., chief of Anesthesia at Los Alamitos Medical Center in Los Alamitos, California, has been honored with the 2016 Ace Award. The award is presented by EmCare, a leading national physician practice management company, and singles out a sole anesthesiologist for the honor each year.

“I am especially honored to receive this award because it in part recognizes my work to help patients with hip injuries effectively manage their pain without the use of traditional opioid drugs,” said Dr. Lau. “As part of the team that developed the protocol for this innovative approach, I am gratified that hip patients have benefited from our work.”

“Dr. Lau is well-respected among his peers and hospital staff,” said Kent Clayton, Chief Executive Officer of Los Alamitos Medical Center. “He has earned this admiration based on the countless number of patients he has successfully cared for, his astute clinical judgment and most importantly, ensuring that his patients come first. He takes pride in leading the patient care team to ensure an ideal outcome is provided to the patient.”

“Dr. Lau is co-champion of the collaborative initiative to teach emergency department physicians about regional analgesia nerve blocks to treat the pain of hip fractures in the ED,” said Tom Carpenter, M.D., divisional medical director for EmCare. “This exemplifies the collaborative efforts he supports between different departments within the hospital. He is also intimately involved in the orthopedic bundled payment program which standardizes care, maximizes efficient use of resources and improves patient care and the patient experience.”

Dr. Lau was honored with the Ace Award during EmCare’s annual Leadership Conference. The 2016 convention was held at The Wynn in Las Vegas, March 14-16. While the Ace Award recognizes a single anesthesiologist from across the United States, EmCare also annually honors individuals from emergency medicine, radiology and hospital medicine as its Physicians of the Year.


Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.