Physician of the Year: Hospital Medicine

Posted on Fri, Apr 17, 2015
Physician of the Year: Hospital Medicine

2015 Summit Award Presented to Baylor University Medical Center Physician
EmCare Honors Dr. Carolyn Quan with National Recognition

ORLANDO, FLA. (April 7, 2015) – The medical director for hospital medicine at Baylor University Medical Center, Carolyn Quan, M.D., has been selected as the 2015 Summit Award winner. The award is presented by EmCare, a leading national physician practice management company, and singles out a sole hospital medicine physician for the honor each year.

“I was so surprised,” said Dr. Quan. “I get so much help and so much latitude from so many people, so it’s certainly not just me that deserves this recognition.”

“Dr. Quan has done everything that anyone could ask for in leading the hospital medicine practice at Baylor,” says Dighton Packard, M.D., EmCare’s chief medical officer. “She is innovative and caring and the staff and her patients all just love her.”

Dr. Quan leads Texas Primary Care, a hospital medicine program at Baylor University Medical Center. Texas Primary Care is the original and largest hospital medicine program for EmCare. She is credited with implementing a mid-level program at the practice, then growing it from nine to 25 mid-level practitioners. Dr. Quan also oversees patient transfer at Baylor University Medical Center and helped implement the hospital’s sepsis prevention initiative. She is also known to go above and beyond good patient care, helping her patients pay for medications, find money to travel and, in one case, plan a wedding for a terminal patient.

Dr. Quan received her medical degree from the University of Texas Southwestern in and completed her residency at Parkland Hospital – both in Dallas.

Hospital Medicine is a specialty that focuses on caring for those patients who have been admitted to the hospital. Hospitalists round on all of the inpatients, while coordinating care with other hospital departments, the patients’ families, the rehabilitation specialists, ancillary services and even the patients themselves. Hospital Medicine, along with Emergency Medicine, Anesthesia, Acute Care Surgery, Radiology and Teleradiology make up EmCare’s five service lines.

Dr. Quan was honored with the Summit Award during EmCare’s annual Leadership Conference. The 2015 convention was held at Coronado Springs Resort in Orlando, Fla. While the Summit Award recognizes a single hospitalist from across the United States, EmCare also annually honors individuals from emergency medicine, radiology and anesthesiology as its Physicians of the Year.

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.