Physician of the Year: Emergency Medicine

Posted on Wed, Apr 15, 2015
Physician of the Year: Emergency Medicine

2015 Commitment to Care Award Presented to San Antonio Physician
EmCare Honors Dr. Gregory Roth with National Recognition

ORLANDO, FLA. (April 8, 2015) – Gregory Roth, M.D., the emergency department medical director at six hospitals in the San Antonio area, has been named by EmCare as the 2015 Commitment to Care Award winner. EmCare is a leading national physician practice management company, and singles out a sole emergency medicine physician among several thousand EmCare-affiliated clinicians for the honor each year.

“I am humbled and so grateful,” said Dr. Roth. “There are so many wonderful doctors who practice with EmCare – so many of whom could have been chosen – so I’m incredibly honored.”

“Dr. Roth won the Commitment to Care Award for many reasons,” says Dr. Dighton Packard, chief medical officer for EmCare. “He is a wonderful doctor. He has a strong focus on patient care and patient outcomes. And he’s someone who inspires a lot of confidence in the emergency department staff.”

Dr. Roth is credited with helping to build the first-ever emergency department for The Nix Hospital in San Antonio. He has implemented team triage in the emergency department, which has been shown to reduce wait times and improve outcomes for patients. The Nix has also named him as chief of staff for 2016. Dr. Roth acts as emergency department medical director at The Nix, its satellite hospital in Dilley, Texas; Dimmit Regional Hospital in Carrizo Springs, Texas; Medina Regional Hospital in Hondo, Texas; Val Verde Regional Hospital in Del Rio, Texas and El Campo Memorial Hospital in El Campo, Texas.

Dr. Roth received his medical degree from Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine and completed his emergency medicine residency at York Hospital. He is currently enrolled in the MBA program at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Dr. Roth was honored with the Commitment to Care Award during EmCare’s annual Leadership Conference. The 2015 convention was held at Coronado Springs Resort in Orlando, Fla. March 30 – April 1. While the Commitment to Care Award recognizes a single emergency physician from across the United States, EmCare also annually honors individuals from hospital medicine, radiology and anesthesiology as its Physicians of the Year.

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.