Awards and Recognition


Clinicians of the Year

EmCare established its Clinician of the Year program to honor exceptional individuals in the fields of emergency medicine, hospital medicine, acute care surgery, anesthesiology and radiology. These award winners have gone above and beyond their everyday job duties in Making Healthcare Work Better™. They provide inspiration to others and elevate the organization. Winners have included:

Emergency Medicine "Commitment To Care" Award

2016 - Paula Brathwaite, MD
2015 - Gregory Roth, MD
2014 - Richard Rosenthal, MD

Hospital Medicine "Summit" Award

2016 - Gina Puglisi, MD
2015 - Carolyn Quan, MD
2014 - Asim Usman, MD

Surgical Services "Acute" Award

2016 - Jason West, MD
2015 - Alexander Rose, MD
2014 - Mathis Adams, MD

Anesthesia "ACE" Award

2016 - Thomas Seay, MD
2015 - Ali Manoocherian, MD
2014 - Harry Jung, III, MD

Radiology "READ" Award

2016 - Gary Lau, MD
2015 - Scott Butler, MD
2014 - Alan Stone, MD

Genesis Cup

Each year, the Genesis Cup Award is presented to organizations to recognize and celebrate the creativity and innovation of physicians in their never-ending pursuit to improve the delivery of patient care. Winners have included:


Los Alamitos Medical Center, Los Alamitos, CA
Ultrasound Guided Nerve Block program

  • Jonathan Maskin, MD, MBA
  • Kirsten Calder, MD, FACEP
  • Chris Tomongin, MD, FACEP
  • Kelvin Nguyen, MD
  • Gary Lau, MD
  • Harry Jung, MD
  • Dragos Diaconescu, MD
  • Sue Kirk, RN
  • Donna Greenhalgh, RN
  • Reba Reed, RN, Director of Practice improvement
  • Melissa O'Guinn, Project Manager


Community South Hospital, IN
Advanced Practice Provider (APP) Training Academy

  • Andy Mulvey, MD
  • Leila Reed, PA
  • Lisa Bera, PA
  • Richele Wright, RN
  • Joel Parker, MD


Lakeland Regional Medical Center - Lakeland, FL
Emergency Department redesign improved metrics and decreased wait times for the busiest emergency department in Florida.

  • Jim Melton, III, MD
  • Maureen Leckie, AVP of Clinical Operations
  • April Novotny, CEN Director of Emergency Services
  • Pam Carter, AD of Emergency Services
  • Joanne Fuell, AD of Emergency Services