Brian Baxter, MD, FACEP

Executive Vice President, EmCare Alliance Group
Brian Baxter, MD, FACEP

Dr. Brian Baxter has worked with EmCare since 2008 and serves as an executive vice president for the EmCare Alliance Group.  He has also been the Emergency Department Medical Director at Osceola Regional Medical Center since 2008 and Chair for the Department of Emergency Medicine since 2010.  He is currently an Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of Central Florida.

Baxter received his Bachelor of Science degree in biology from Randolph-Macon College in Ashland, Virginia and his medical degree from Eastern Virginia Medical School in Norfolk, Virginia in 1991. He completed his internship and residency at Darnall Army Community Hospital in Fort Hood, Texas.

For his outstanding performance and dedication to patient care, Baxter was awarded the EmCare 2009 Medical Director of the Year for the Southeastern Division and the EmCare 2008 New Medical Director of the Year. He was selected as the Outstanding Senior Resident Clinician for Darnall Army Community Hospital in June 1994 and received the Emergency Medicine Residents Association Dedication Award in September 1995.

As a member of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP), Baxter has served many leadership roles and participated in a variety of committees including the Membership Committee and the “Foresight” Editorial Board. He is a past President for the Government Services Chapter of ACEP.  He has been the Policy Committee Chair and served on the “EM Resident” Editorial Board for Emergency Medicine Residents Association.  He has also served as a reviewer for the Continuing Education Coordinating Board for Emergency Medical Services (CECBEMS). Baxter is certified by the American Board of Emergency Medicine and is a member of the American Medical Association and the American College of Physician Executives. He currently serves as Chair for the Continuing Medical Education Committee at Osceola Regional.

Among numerous honors, Baxter has received Army Commendation Medals, Army Meritorious Service Medals and Army Achievement Medals. His extensive background in military and emergency medicine has positioned him to effectively lead emergency departments to tactical and strategic success.